Prior DUI Convictions In California
Speak to an Encino DUI Lawyer About Your Case!
The penalties you face as a part of your DUI will be influenced by a number of factors, and your sentence could be enhanced if any of these aggravating factors are present. One of the biggest aggravating factors in a DUI case is the presence of any sort of a previous record. If you are facing charges as a repeat DUI offender, you should not hesitate to bring your case to an Encino DUI attorney who can defend you against these accusations.
At the Law Offices of Scott R. Spindel, we understand how stressful a DUI charge can be, and we fight to help you maintain your innocence by putting the law on your side. We are one of the premiere choices for DUI defense in the Los Angeles area thanks to our 24/7 availability, more than 15 years of experience, and unwavering dedication to the successful outcome for each client. Attorney is a certified instructor of Standardized Field Sobriety Tests for the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, and is highly-knowledgeable in DUI law to give you an advantage when facing your charges.
If you are facing DUI charges and have any prior convictions on your record, call the Law Offices of Scott R. Spindel today at (888) 973-0209 to arrange a free in-person consultation!
Extra Penalties for Repeat Offenders
California’s look-back law states that any DUIs which occurred more than 10 years in the past may not be used towards charging you as a repeat offender, but they may still be considered when issuing your penalties. If you are facing charges for a DUI less than 10 years later, you will likely be charged as a repeat offender and face much stricter penalties.
A second-time DUI offender could face:
- Jail time: Between 10 days an one year (up from four days to six months)
- Fines: Up to $1,800 (up from $1,000)
- License suspension: Two years (up from 30 days to 10 months)
A Third-time DUI offender could face:
- Jail time: Between 120 days an one year (up from 10 days to a year)
- Fines: Up to $1,800
- License suspension: Three years (up from two years)
Additionally, all repeat offenders will be required to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle for a designated period of time. Failing to use this ignition interlock device or violating the terms of your license suspension could also subject you to further criminal consequences.
Are you facing repeat offender charges? Contact the Law Offices of Scott R. Spindel online now to start fighting back against your charges!